Fri 17/06/17

A ringlet butterfly got into our conservatory today. They are a common species, but not in our back garden; I doubt if I have ever seen more than half a dozen in my life, so it was quite an event.

 

My wife pointed out a large moth, which she accurately identified as one of the yellow underwings in the jamb of the sliding door. I couldn’t photograph it unless I prodded it out into the open, in which case it would fly away, which is exactly what happened. It paused briefly on my arm though, with wings half-open, which gave me a chance at one single shot, which fortunately came out pretty well! This is the lesser yellow underwing; only slightly smaller than the large yellow underwing.

 

This little skipper butterfly turned up in the garden as well. The all-black tips of the antennae identify is as an Essex Skipper; the small skipper is extremely similar, but the underside of the antennae tips are orange.

 

Write a comment

Comments: 7

Listen to Chalkhill Blue at Bandcamp.com!

 

If you would like to listen to the music of Chalkhill Blue for free, or purchase a download or CD, please click the link below.

 

Downloads can be purchased per track or whole album.

 

CDs include a full 8-page inlay booklet with notes on each track.

 

The Chalkhill Blue Album!

 

 

See also:

 

iTunes !

 

Facebook

 

Twitter

 

YouTube

 

CD Baby

 

Fandalism

 

Soundcloud

 

MySpace

 

CLASSIC ROCK SOCIETY!

 

See the Chalkhill Blue CD at:

 

Rock Bottom Records, Whitstable 

 

or click on the above graphic to buy online.

 

Caroline Battenburg Art