Sun 03/12/2017

Well, a couple of things happened at the beginning of November. Firstly, I decided not to try to photograph every tiny bug I see, as I can never keep up with my own stuff and I always seem to be behind uploading it. Secondly, November was so hideously cold and miserable that there was nothing about anyway. The result is that there has been nothing worth reporting on for weeks. Nevertheless, a huge irruption of hawfinches from the continent has been reported, so I hurried out to Ashenbank Woods for half an hour this afternoon to see if I could see anything.

Siskins Spinus spinus – I think!
Siskins Spinus spinus – I think!

 

Apparently the invasion has been going for a couple of months, although I only read about it on Friday. But this afternoon was so poor, grey and overcast I could hardly see anything anyway. I made out one chaffinch, a couple of blackbirds and a whole load of pigeons and jackdaws. There were also a few grey-silhouette birds high in the branches, but the light was so appalling, all I could do was attempt a couple of long-range photos so I could identify them when I got home. It turns out that one was a bog-standard great tit, but I think these little fellow high up in a birch tree are siskins.

 

Listen to Chalkhill Blue at Bandcamp.com!

 

If you would like to listen to the music of Chalkhill Blue for free, or purchase a download or CD, please click the link below.

 

Downloads can be purchased per track or whole album.

 

CDs include a full 8-page inlay booklet with notes on each track.

 

The Chalkhill Blue Album!

 

 

See also:

 

iTunes !

 

Facebook

 

Twitter

 

YouTube

 

CD Baby

 

Fandalism

 

Soundcloud

 

MySpace

 

CLASSIC ROCK SOCIETY!

 

See the Chalkhill Blue CD at:

 

Rock Bottom Records, Whitstable 

 

or click on the above graphic to buy online.

 

Caroline Battenburg Art