Wed 17/10/2018

Common Green Lacewing Chrysoperla carnea
Common Green Lacewing Chrysoperla carnea

I had noticed a few lacewings around the place recently that are brown rather than green, and when I looked it up, I found out that there is at least one very common species that turns brown when it hibernates. I found a couple of them at the factory today, as well as one that is still bright green, although in a little bit of bother in a spider’s web. It didn’t look that concerned though; I think it was just resting there.

Common Green Lacewing Chrysoperla carnea
Common Green Lacewing Chrysoperla carnea
Common Green Lacewing Chrysoperla carnea
Common Green Lacewing Chrysoperla carnea

 

While I was at it, I had another go at getting some really good comparison photos of a common plume moth and a beautiful plume. Reasonable I suppose …

 

Common plume Emmelina monodactyla
Common plume Emmelina monodactyla
Beautiful plume Amblyptilia acanthadactyla
Beautiful plume Amblyptilia acanthadactyla

There has been a lot of talk on the News and social media about a beluga whale frolicking in the Thames estuary right on our doorstep. It took until today though, for me to get a chance to take a look. Couldn’t see the blighter anywhere of course, only mud, mist and a large number of these wading birds. I’m not sure what they are, mist-shrouded and covered in mud as they are, but then I never am with waders anyway.

Miscellaneous wading birds
Miscellaneous wading birds
Miscellaneous wading birds
Miscellaneous wading birds

Write a comment

Comments: 0

Listen to Chalkhill Blue at Bandcamp.com!

 

If you would like to listen to the music of Chalkhill Blue for free, or purchase a download or CD, please click the link below.

 

Downloads can be purchased per track or whole album.

 

CDs include a full 8-page inlay booklet with notes on each track.

 

The Chalkhill Blue Album!

 

 

See also:

 

iTunes !

 

Facebook

 

Twitter

 

YouTube

 

CD Baby

 

Fandalism

 

Soundcloud

 

MySpace

 

CLASSIC ROCK SOCIETY!

 

See the Chalkhill Blue CD at:

 

Rock Bottom Records, Whitstable 

 

or click on the above graphic to buy online.

 

Caroline Battenburg Art