Sun 26/05/2019

 

I saw something today that I never expected to see: a red kite over the M2 verge near junction 3 (A229 Bluebell Hill)! I am familiar with red kites as they are very common in the Brecon Beacons in Wales and on the M40 in the vicinity of Oxford, and I have seen them in both places – but as far as I know, they are not present in North Kent. Buzzards are our large bird of prey, but this one was undoubtedly a red kite. I have not yet had any response to my queries about this …

Angle shades moth Phlogophora meticulosa
Angle shades moth Phlogophora meticulosa

 

 

The reason I was out that way in the first place was that we had been to the Kent Garden Show at Detling. One of the highlights for me is that I always seem to see unusual moths there. I won’t tell you where though. Oh all right then – in the mobile toilets by the entrance. The species are never rare, but are almost always unusual to me, being a townie. This year we had the common marbled carpet, which is one I don’t ever remember having seen before, and the angle shades, which is dead common everywhere but beautiful nonetheless. The photos are not brilliant, because the light is always fairly subdued in the mobile huts and if you are going to whip out a camera in the gents, then it’s a case of a quick photo and then run … !

 

Common marbled carpet moth Dysstroma truncata
Common marbled carpet moth Dysstroma truncata

Write a comment

Comments: 0

Listen to Chalkhill Blue at Bandcamp.com!

 

If you would like to listen to the music of Chalkhill Blue for free, or purchase a download or CD, please click the link below.

 

Downloads can be purchased per track or whole album.

 

CDs include a full 8-page inlay booklet with notes on each track.

 

The Chalkhill Blue Album!

 

 

See also:

 

iTunes !

 

Facebook

 

Twitter

 

YouTube

 

CD Baby

 

Fandalism

 

Soundcloud

 

MySpace

 

CLASSIC ROCK SOCIETY!

 

See the Chalkhill Blue CD at:

 

Rock Bottom Records, Whitstable 

 

or click on the above graphic to buy online.

 

Caroline Battenburg Art