Wed 05/06/2019

Continuing our occasional series on carpet moths, here we have the common garden carpet Xanthorhoe fluctuata:

Garden carpet moth Xanthorhoe fluctuata
Garden carpet moth Xanthorhoe fluctuata

I saw this little brown blob on the outside warehouse wall, but without my glasses I couldn’t work out whether it was a live insect, a dead insect, or just a piece of crud stuck to the wall. I took a photo anyway, and it turned out to be a brown lacewing. There are several species, all very similar, so I won’t hazard a categorical ID, but the little fella is only 7 or 8mm long.

 

 

I also found this brightly-marked crane fly. Again, there are various species in the genus Nephrotoma, and I think this is different from the last one I photographed back on Tue 14/08/18. That had the black wing smudges that marked it out as Nephrotoma quadriferia, but this one, being clear-winged, I think is Nephrotoma appendiculata.

Brown lacewing
Brown lacewing
Crane fly of the genus Nephrotoma
Crane fly of the genus Nephrotoma

 

The factory site is liberally sprinkled with false widow spiders, mostly tiny, although we have a couple of chunky ones every year. It’s a bit early in the season for full adults, but the one on the previous page is getting towards half size. A nice specimen anyway. 

False widow spider Steatoda nobilis
False widow spider Steatoda nobilis
Ooh, what is it? Pupa of a nettle leaf-rolling moth – stay tuned for ID!
Ooh, what is it? Pupa of a nettle leaf-rolling moth – stay tuned for ID!

On the way home, I dallied in the overgrown fringes of Church Walk. The footpath is getting overwhelmed, so I suppose someone will be down there to chop the fringes back at some point, but for now the nettles are home to some leaf-rolling caterpillars. I unfurled this leaf and found, not a caterpillar, but a pupa, so I have secreted it in the shed to see what emerges. I am betting on a mother-of-pearl moth.

 

Write a comment

Comments: 0

Listen to Chalkhill Blue at Bandcamp.com!

 

If you would like to listen to the music of Chalkhill Blue for free, or purchase a download or CD, please click the link below.

 

Downloads can be purchased per track or whole album.

 

CDs include a full 8-page inlay booklet with notes on each track.

 

The Chalkhill Blue Album!

 

 

See also:

 

iTunes !

 

Facebook

 

Twitter

 

YouTube

 

CD Baby

 

Fandalism

 

Soundcloud

 

MySpace

 

CLASSIC ROCK SOCIETY!

 

See the Chalkhill Blue CD at:

 

Rock Bottom Records, Whitstable 

 

or click on the above graphic to buy online.

 

Caroline Battenburg Art