Fri 13/09/2019

Small dragonfly visiting the office
Small dragonfly visiting the office

Quite surprised when this dragonfly landed on the edge of the open window next to my desk! I think it is a female ruddy darter, but I wouldn’t swear to it. The thing buzzed off when I tried to reach my camera-arm out through the window.

 

Just about public enemy no.1 in gardening circles this year is the box-tree moth. It’s caterpillars ravage the box shrubs so beloved of formal gardeners. It was introduced from Asia, accidentally apparently, and first recorded in the UK in Kent in 2007. I have never seen or heard of them before this year, but I have seen two or three around the warehouse walls at work, and one in the alley behind my house. They seem to be easily disturbed though, and are therefore a bit tricky to photograph, close up at least. Today I found at least half a dozen around the warehouse, all too high up for me to reach apart from one – I took a distance shot of it, but as soon as I moved in it got spooked and flew off.

Box-tree moth Cydalima perspectalis
Box-tree moth Cydalima perspectalis

Their colouring makes them difficult to photograph too, as the bright white in the centre always seems to over-expose. I did, however, manage to get some reasonable shots using zoom, of a specimen 10 or 12 feet from the ground. So here we have – my first record of a box-tree moth.

Found this nice caddis fly on the warehouse wall too – about 2cm long and could easily be mistaken for a moth, this is the adult of the children’s-book-favourite caddis larva, that lives underwater and covers itself with a casing of sand, grit and tiny twigs.

Caddis
Caddis

And then while I am about it, probably my best-ever shot of what is probably a common plume moth, and a reasonably decent one of a beautiful plume, which is actually about half the size.

Write a comment

Comments: 0

Listen to Chalkhill Blue at Bandcamp.com!

 

If you would like to listen to the music of Chalkhill Blue for free, or purchase a download or CD, please click the link below.

 

Downloads can be purchased per track or whole album.

 

CDs include a full 8-page inlay booklet with notes on each track.

 

The Chalkhill Blue Album!

 

 

See also:

 

iTunes !

 

Facebook

 

Twitter

 

YouTube

 

CD Baby

 

Fandalism

 

Soundcloud

 

MySpace

 

CLASSIC ROCK SOCIETY!

 

See the Chalkhill Blue CD at:

 

Rock Bottom Records, Whitstable 

 

or click on the above graphic to buy online.

 

Caroline Battenburg Art