Fri 27/09/2019

A bit of a strange thing happened as I was walking to work in the semi-darkness this morning. Not long after 6:30am, I spotted an insect crawling across the pavement in front of me. I stopped and it stopped too; I gave it a prod with my foot, but it wouldn’t start moving again. There was a lot of autumn leaf detritus spread around, but I was sure I had seen this particular dot moving; it was too dark to see what it was, so I crouched down and took a couple of flash photos of it. I thought it might be some kind of bee or something. When I was able to check the photos, I found out it was a moth, and I’m pretty sure it’s one I haven’t seen before, too:

Lunar underwing moth Omphaloscelis lunosa with a sycamore seed for scale
Lunar underwing moth Omphaloscelis lunosa with a sycamore seed for scale

 

I have left a sycamore seed in the photograph for scale, and I believe this moth to be a lunar underwing Omphaloscelis lunosa, which is a new species for me! It gets the name from a crescent-moon shaped marking on the underwings, not visible in this photograph of course.

 

As I mentioned two weeks ago, there has been a massive irruption of box tree moths this year – but these are virtually the most shy and easily-spooked moths I have ever come across. Usually they see you coming even before you see them, and any roosting specimens that are close enough to photograph take off and flutter away before you can even get your camera out. They don’t settle back down quickly either, and tend to meander away or up and over the roof. I have managed to get some fairly distant photos, but even then it tends to fail because the high contrast of their bright white wings with the dark borders tends to mess up the light metering, and all you get is a flat, glowing expanse of white, (as with my photo from Fri 13/09/19). But today it was quite chilly, and this one let me get close – really close. I had to take shots in between gusts of wind (that regularly disturbed the creatures wings), but I got some decent shots at last.

Box tree moth Cydalima perspectalis
Box tree moth Cydalima perspectalis

 

It is an invasive species from East Asia, introduced to Europe in 2006 when they started being spotted in Germany, and invading the UK two years later. However, this is the first year they have been really noticeable and common.

 

Write a comment

Comments: 0

Listen to Chalkhill Blue at Bandcamp.com!

 

If you would like to listen to the music of Chalkhill Blue for free, or purchase a download or CD, please click the link below.

 

Downloads can be purchased per track or whole album.

 

CDs include a full 8-page inlay booklet with notes on each track.

 

The Chalkhill Blue Album!

 

 

See also:

 

iTunes !

 

Facebook

 

Twitter

 

YouTube

 

CD Baby

 

Fandalism

 

Soundcloud

 

MySpace

 

CLASSIC ROCK SOCIETY!

 

See the Chalkhill Blue CD at:

 

Rock Bottom Records, Whitstable 

 

or click on the above graphic to buy online.

 

Caroline Battenburg Art